Certain pieces of the software can be hidden from view by turning off the task in the role, however, some aspects of the software are hard coded and will display even if the product is not being used currently.
To turn off some of the functionality in the software:
Go to Core > Users/Access > Profile
Select Manage Roles
Choose the role in which to turn the task off
Unmark the checkbox on the task you wish to disable
Note: While a task may be able to be disabled, it does not always remove the visibility of that task in the software, it would simply disable the functionality.