The new experience does not add or remove any additional steps in authenticating their account.  The experience is using the same methodology that was used previously, just cleaner. The user has the option to opt-in to this new experience.

Opt-in

Once opted-in, the user will notice the change when logging in to their account.
If an issue arises a user can simply "return to the classic sign-in experience"
Classic Experience