Yes, Generate Student Schedule will not overwrite any existing changes to the student schedule unless the "Clear student enrollments" box under Information to Schedule is marked. It is recommended to always save Scheduling Snapshots before and after every instance of Generate Student Schedule so that the option is always there to revert to your previous configuration.