Before following the steps outlined in this article:

  1. Make sure your school's database/application is immediately updated.
  2. Check with your school's data contact to see if a Data Refresh is in progress.
    - If so, wait until it is done and then make the changes in the database.
  3. If making the change is urgent and cannot wait until the Data Refresh is complete, contact Support to see if the deceased's information can be omitted from the Data Refresh.

Then, go to Core > User/Access > Profile > Edit User Profile Data, and make the following changes in the deceased user's profile:

In the Personal Information channel:

  1. Click Edit.
  2. Under Sensitive Information:
    - Select the check box titled Deceased.
    - Enter the date deceased (if known).
    - Click Save & Exit.

In the Internet Information channel:

  1. Click Edit.
  2. Remove the E-mail and CC E-mail addresses.
  3. Click Save & Exit.

In the Address channel:

  1. Click Edit next to each address.
  2. Change the Salutation information (if applicable).
  3. Click Save & Exit.
    Note: Changing the Salutation before unsharing the address is more efficient because it changes the Salutation in all profiles the address is shared with.
  4. Click Edit next to each address.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. Select Remove for this user only.
  7. Click Confirm.
    Note:
     Deleting or "unsharing" the user's address prevents them from inadvertently showing up on reports, especially those with mailing labels.

In the Phone channel:

  1. Click Edit next to each phone number.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Select Remove for this user only.
  4. Click Confirm.
    Note
    : Deleting or "unsharing" the deceased's phone numbers prevents them from inadvertently showing up on reports

In the Sign In Information channel:

  1. Click Edit.
  2. Select the Disabled/Locked check box.
  3. Click Save & Exit.

To remove this particular deceased user from the directory:

  1. Under System Information, click the link titled Select information to be published in the online community.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Select Do not include my name, or any information about me in the directory.
  4. Click Save.
If you do not see this option under System Information, navigate to:
  1. Core
  2. Settings
  3. Profile
  4. Profile Publish Access
  5. Edit
  6. Check off Allow users to remove their name from the online directory
  7. Save
It should now be displaying under System Information.

To remove all Deceased users from the directory(ies):

  1. Go to Core > Settings > Directories.
  2. Click pencil icon to edit the directory.
  3. On the General tab, next to Display Deceased Users, select No.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Repeat these steps for each directory view.

For all relationships listed in the deceased's Relationships channel – child(ren), spouse, parent, etc.:

  1. In the Relationships channel, click on the name of the user. (This brings you directly to this user's profile.)
  2. In their Relationships channel, click Relationship Settings.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Select the following:
    - No Contact check box corresponding with the deceased parent.
    Note: This removes the deceased user from the Emergency Contacts channel.
    - Resides With check box corresponding with the relationship the child now lives with.
  5. Deselect the following check boxes corresponding with the deceased user.
    - Primary
    - Resides With
    - List as Parent
    - Parental Access
    Note: Before completing this step, be sure to first complete the step(s) for removing the user from the directory(ies) because after you uncheck this box, the Select information to be published in the online community link will no longer be accessible in the deceased user's profile.
  6. Enter text in the Notes field (if desired) indicating this user is deceased.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Note: If you want to remove the deceased user from in the Relationship channel altogether:
    - Click the Delete link.
    - Click Confirm.