Note: Before you proceed with the following instructions, back up the database. If your organization integrates multiple Blackbaud products, refer to the Additional Requirements section of the backup solution.


Note: Before deleting the user name, review What to consider before deleting a user name 

When you delete a user from security, if he has a constituent record in your database, it is not removed from the database. We recommend you back up your data by printing a security profile for the user before deleting the security record.

 
  1. In Administration, click Security
     
  2. Select the user to remove from security and click Delete in the action bar
     
  3. Click Yes to the verification message: "If this record is deleted, the user name ‘<name>’ cannot be used again.  Would you like to change the user name and save the record before deleting it?"


     

The user is no longer listed in the tree view and his constituent record remains unchanged