If a user is inactive in the database for 15 minutes, The Raiser's Edge automatically logs the user out of the database. When the user returns, he is prompted to log in again.

During this period of inactivity, any current processes that were running will continue to run while The Raiser's Edge is inactive. Because of this, a user license will still be used. To disconnect a user, review How to disconnect a user at the server in the Blackbaud Management Console or How to manually disconnect a hosting user.

This feature was implemented to comply with PCI DSS. Rule 8.5.15 states "If a session has been idle for more than 15 minutes, require the user to re-enter the password to reactivate the terminal." In version 7.91.5056 and above, this is an optional feature only for non-Supervisor users. (It is required for Supervisor users.)

If using Windows Authentication, accounts will still be locked after 15 minutes of inactivity. In this instance the user's workstation will be locked, not just The Raiser's Edge.

NOTE: This timeout setting applies only to The Raiser's Edge. If your Raiser's Edge is hosted by Blackbaud, this setting does not affect the hosting inactivity timeout. Please refer to the following for additional information: What are the timeout settings for Blackbaud Hosting Services?


In The Raiser's Edge 7 version 7.91.5056 and above, this feature is OPTIONAL for all non-Supervisor users. 

NOTE: Due to PCI regulations, listed above, this is NOT optional for 'Supervisor' users.

A 'Supervisor' user is a user who:

  1. Logs in as Supervisor
  2. Logs in as a user with Supervisor rights
  3. Belongs to a user group that has rights to Admin > Security

To enable or disable this feature for non-Supervisor users:

  1. Go to Configuration > Business Rules > System access options
  2. Mark or unmark the option to 'Disable inactivity timeout for all non-Supervisor users'