Making old levels inactive does not affect any current memberships in those levels. When those current members go to renew or rejoin, they are forced to renew, rejoin, upgrade, or downgrade into one of the new active levels. They cannot renew or rejoin into the old inactive levels. Inactivating the old levels also prevents new memberships joining at those levels.

To make a level inactive, follow these steps: 
  1. Go to Memberships, click on the membership program.
  2. Go to the Levels or Terms and Levels tab.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Unmark the Active checkbox next to the old levels.
  5. Click Save.