Deleting a already linked sign up request deletes the user

If a sign up request comes into the plugin that is already linked to a user correctly, you cannot process the transaction as it's already linked. You may see an error message This RE constituent is already linked to NetCommunity user: XXX. If you delete the transaction, the existing user is deleted in Blackbaud NetCommunity.
Deleting a sign up request will delete the associated user in the NetCommunity website.

The deleted user can be restored by following these steps:
  1. Log into Blackbaud NetCommunity with a supervisor account
  2. Navigate to Users & security > Users
  3. Click on the check box to include deleted users and press filter
  4. Edit the deleted user by pressing the pencil icon
  5. Click Undelete to restore the user
Please see this article in regards to best practices for processing these types of Sign Up Requests

Steps to Duplicate

  1. Generate a sign up request for an existing username that is linked to a record in The Raiser's Edge
  2. Verify under Users & security > Users that the username is active
  3. In the NetCommunity plugin in The Raiser's Edge, navigate to Sign up requests
  4. Click on the sign up request and see the prompt that the user is already linked Error: This RE constituent is already linked to NetCommunity user: XXX - when processing Sign-up Request
  5. Click process and see the prompt that the user is already linked
  6. Click on the drop down arrow on the top right of the transaction information screen to send the already linked user email - see that the transaction stays in the plugin
  7. Delete the transaction
  8. Return to Blackbaud NetCommunity and search for the user under Users & security > Users including deleted users.
  9. See that the user was deleted
     

Was this article helpful?